Member Group

Basic Education Committee

General Information:

SEAoO promotes Structural Engineering at Ohio's Universities.  We'd like our members to be involved with students at all Ohio Universities with Civil and Structural Engineering programs.  We currently have active chapters at the following schools:
  1. University of Cincinnati
  2. Ohio State University
  3. University of Toledo
  4. Ohio University
  5. University of Akron
  6. University of Dayton
If you would like to be part of this effort, please contact one of the committee members at the bottom of the page or at [email protected]

Education Award:

SEAoO is excited to announce that this year the Structural Engineering Association of Ohio (SEAoO) has increased the Education Award funding this year to a total of $8,000 total!  Available Education Awards include:

  • (1) $2,500 Grand Award (Undergraduate)
  • (1) $2,000 Award (Undergraduate)
  • (1) $2,000 Award (Graduate)
  • *New this year thanks to an NCSEA grant* (1) $1,000 Remote Engagement Award; SEAoO student who attended a minimum of (2) virtual, student events and submitted an application.
  • (1) $500 Chapter Award to be presented to the SEAoO student chapter whose member receives the Grand Award if their university has an official SEAoO student chapter.
  • All applicants receive free registration for the 2020 SEAoO Annual Conference.

Email completed application with your essay or report by Friday, April 2nd to [email protected] . 

Below you will find the application and last year's winning papers. 

2021 SEAoO Education Award Application

Sustainable Structural Design

Structural Health Monitoring

Two Way Slabs and the Direct Design Method

Site Visits:

Do you have an exciting project that is under construction that you can't wait to share?  If so, please reach out to [email protected] to schedule a student site visit!  All chapters are actively looking for projects to visit.


Mentoring Night Photos:

OSU students at the 2018-2019 Student Mentoring Meeting.

UC students at the 2018-2019 Student Mentoring Meeting.

A big THANK YOU to all the professionals that came out for these and upcoming events!


Interested in donating toward SEAoO's Educational Awards?  Click here to donate!


Basic Education Committee Chair

Bernie Kooi
Korda / Nemeth Engineering
1650 Watermark Drive
Suite 200
Columbus , OH 43215

Basic Education Committee Member

Melinda Anne Barber
THP Limited
100 E 8th St.
Cincinnati , OH 45202

e-mail: [email protected]
Basic Education Committee Member
Sarah Kate Dangelo
4454 Idea Center Blvd
Dayton , OH 45430

Basic Education Committee Member

Frederick K Hussein
THP Limited Inc.
812 Huron Rd.
Suite 790
Cleveland , OH 44115

Basic Education Committee Member

Robert J Kasee, PE
Owens-Illinois, Inc
Four O-I Plaza, One Michael Owens Way
Perrysburg , OH 43551-2999
Basic Education Committee Member
Sarah Mohr
Shirk & O'Donovan Consulting Engineers,
370 East Wilson Bridge Road
Worthington , OH 43085-2321

Basic Education Committee Member

John Richard Morganstern
5839 Artwell Dr
Sylvania , OH 43560

e-mail: [email protected]
Basic Education Committee Member

Benjamin J. Van De Weghe
Shell+ Meyer Associates Inc.
2202 S. Patterson Blvd.
Dayton , OH 45409

Basic Education Committee Member

Robert J Ward
Owens-Illinois, Inc.
1 Michael Owens Way
Four O-I Plaza
Perrysburg , OH 43551